The Seven types of Saffron

If you use saffron, you know that there are different types of saffron with different prices and characteristics such as different colors and thicker fragrances and more volumes. Each of these different categories determines which part of the saffron plant is in this package. Then we can say, the name of the company and the city of production and etc do not determine the types of saffron, just the yellow and reddish saffron color only effect on type.

Now, if you want to buy saffron, you should now what type of saffron you are buying. Because the price and the quality will be different. In Iran, if you ask for saffron, they use some words like Negin, Super Negin, Poushal, Bunch and Sargol. What do they means? In below you different part of saffron:

1- Sargol

means “Top of the flower” in Farsi. Sargol is a sub-type of Persian saffron that derives from the very tip of the saffron thread. Hence, its name “top of flower.” It is also known as all red saffron. It has a specific, powerful aroma. Generally speaking, Sargol saffron is considered to be high quality due to its lack of Yellow or Orange threads.

The only characteristic of this type is the redness of its stigma. This type of saffron is completely pure and is with the cute tissue of saffron without style. Color power of this type of saffron is very high (in Iranian saffron above 240 USP) and there is no breakage among the tissues.

2- Super Negin

The most expensive and rare trim of Saffron. Super Negin saffron is known not only for being the most potent but also for its aesthetically pleasing features. Super Negin threads are longer in length and contain no yellow or orange threads. The threads are cut symmetrically and contain no crumbs. When comparing all the trims of Saffron, Super Negin is the most sought after for those who want the best of the best.

3- Negin

It is also named :“Negin Sargol” or “Poushal Negin” Saffron. It is actually a special type of  Poushal in which thick strands of red stigma is separated from other strands without any style and bulky saffron is produced. Production of this saffron type has descending trends among different years because of its costly and time consuming procedure. In some cases this type of saffron is called “Super Negin”.

This kind of saffron has the highest coloring power (higher than 250 usp) among the other kinds and its volume is higher, too. This kind of saffron is same as super Negin, strands of stigma connected together. The only differential between them is length of Negin saffron stands is shorter and it contains a very little part of yellow color in the thread. it has a very good smell and taste compared to the pushal and bunch saffron.

4- PUSHAL SAFFRON or Mancha Saffron

The length of pushal saffron is around 2cm – 3cm and it usually has a wavy pattern. Comparing to the above three saffron, pushal is the lower grade. It has more yellow parts compared to the negin saffron. The pure saffron concentration will be less compared to the above three types.

Stigma is longer than style and connected to it. Style is just few millimeters thick. It is known as Poushal in Iran. This type of saffron includes tissue. Color power of this type of saffron is about 220 usp. The other name for it is Mancha saffron.

5- Bunch Saffron or Dokhtar-Peech

The length of the bunch saffron will be around 3cm – 6cm. As a matter of fact, it is the lowest grade of saffron. When compared to the above four types,  It is the longest saffron which usually comes as a bunch.  This type of saffron threads has less red color, more yellow color, and whitish-grey at the bottom.

Stigmas have 4-5 mm style. Strands of saffron tied by white thin yarn and will be dried smoothly. This type of saffron includes all tissues or filaments of saffron and depends upon its varieties, condition of harvesting and cultivating for example soil, the red section can be higher than the yellow section.
In this type, the stigma is connected to style. It is also called bunch saffron in Iran. In other countries it is called red & yellow. In the ancient species is called dokhtar-peech (maid woven).The red stigma in this kind of saffron must consist 70 to 75% of the fiber.

6- White Saffron or Konj

After removing “Sargol” from “Bunch”, the root part of strands remain. This part is known as “konj” or “Sefid” Saffron in Iran. “Konj” is known as style or white in Europe. “Konj” is not a kind of saffron types but considered due to its beautiful color and appearance. Some people incorrectly think that “konj” is more perfumed than the Sargol. Scientific studies show that valuable elements of saffron are only in its red stigma. These elements can transfer from stigma to the style due to move in plant tissue. More moisture in the style causes more aroma apparently.

7- Saffron Powder

This kind of saffron contains the powdered stigma. The powdered saffron comes in three levels of quality.

  • Powdered saffron grade 1 (powdered Sargol): This type is the best grade of Powdered and it is Sargol that is powdered.
  • Powdered saffron grade 2: This grade contains powdered saffron and some powdered style.
  • Powdered saffron grade 3: This type has more powdered style than 2 last grades.



6 replies

Comments are closed.